Close this search box.

National Biodiversity Platforms

National platforms/National multi-stakeholder science-policy-practice platforms

The CABES initiative will establish and enhance credible, relevant, legitimate and sustainable national multi-stakeholder science-policy-practice platforms on biodiversity and ecosystem services in eight African countries, including Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, and Sierra Leone (West Africa), Gabon and the Democratic Republic of Congo (Central Africa), and Ethiopia and Madagascar (East Africa). These national science-policy-practice platforms will:

The eight countries will be supported through training, financial resources, as well as mentoring and knowledge sharing opportunities with other national platforms in Central, East and West Africa. Sustainability plans will be developed once the national platforms are established to ensure that the platforms continue to perform their role in perpetuity. This will include the identification of additional funding sources, in particular, from cross-sectoral stakeholders participating and benefiting from the platforms. 


The UN Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) has extensive expertise and experience in building capacity to establish national multi-stakeholder science-policy platforms and undertake national ecosystem assessments, and leads the delivery of this work package.


Burkina Faso:

Meeting with high-profile delagates at the Ministry for Environment, Burkina Faso

January 2024: working session with government officials at the Permanent Secretariat of the National Council for Sustainable Development (SP/CNDD) to examine the report of the landscape review in preparation for the establishment of a national multi-stakeholders platform on biodiversity and ecosystem services in the country.

WordPress Cookie Plugin by Real Cookie Banner